top of page

Budo Taijutsu

Budo taijutsu is a martial art that encompasses nine different schools of ancient Japanese warrior traditions, six of which are samurai-based and three of which are ninja-based12 The schools are collectively known as Bujinkan, and are headed by Masaaki Hatsumi, who is the current grandmaster of all nine schools

The nine schools are:

  • Togakure Ryū Ninpō Taijutsu (Hidden Door School)

  • Gyokushin Ryū Ninpō (Jade Heart School)

  • Kumogakure Ryū Ninpō (Hidden Cloud School)

  • Kotō Ryū Koppō jutsu (Tiger Knocking Down School)

  • Gyokko Ryū Kosshi jutsu (Jeweled Tiger School)

  • Kuki Shinden Ryū Happō Bikenjutsu (Nine Demons Divine Transmission School)

  • Shinden Fudo Ryū Dakentai jutsu (Immovable Heart School)

  • Takagi Yoshin Ryū Jūtai jutsu (High Tree Raised Heart School)

  • Gikan Ryū Koppō jutsu (Truth, Loyalty and Justice School)

Each school has its own history, techniques, and principles, but they share a common philosophy of budo, or the martial way. Budo taijutsu is not a sport or a competition, but a way of self-defense and self-improvement that aims to harmonize with nature and oneself

Nine Schools

  • Togakure Ryu Ninpo – Hidden Door School 

  • Gyokko Ryu Kosshijutsu – Jewel Tiger School 

  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu – Immovable Heart School 

  • Kukishinden Ryu Happo Hikenjutsu – Nine Demon Gods School

  • Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo – Jeweled Heart School 

  • Koto Ryu Koppojutsu – Tiger Knocking Down School 

  • Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu – High Tree, Raised Heart School 

  • Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu – Truth, Loyalty & Justice School 

  • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo – Hiding in the Clouds School 

bottom of page